Friday, May 15, 2009

2009 ACC Baseball Championship: The Format

Since this is a new thing for us old BC guys (and gals), I thought it might help if I broke down what we can all expect from this tournament as far as its format. Of course, if you're an ACC fan and you're not sure of it either, well here it is.

The ACC Baseball Championship tournament is in a round-robin format much like something you'd see out of the World Baseball Classic or the Caribbean Series, with pools of four teams playing each other. The participants in the tournament will be seeded 1 through 8, with the two top seeds being the division champions and the remaining six being "at-large" contenders as it were -- in other words, the six next best teams in the conference regardless of what division they play in. Right now it looks as though the Coastal Division will dominate the tournament, having 5 teams. BC's division, the Atlantic, only has 3. If the tournament were to begin today, Boston College would be the #7 seed.

There are two pools of four teams for the round-robin: A and B. In Pool A will be seeds 1, 4, 5, and 8 whereas in Pool B it will be 2, 3, 6, and 7. Each team will play the other three teams in their pool and the two teams with the best record in each pool will advance to the finals to play the winner of the other pool. In the event of two teams having the same record in their pool at the conclusion of the round-robin, both of those tied teams will have played one another already and therefore that is the tiebreaker. In sum, 13 games will be played from May 20-24 in Durham.

As we get closer to the tournament, since this is a BC-themed blog, I will assess the Eagles' chances.

No comments:

Post a Comment