Wednesday, April 29, 2009

In the discretion of the official scorer

Now I've heard of the official scorer in baseball being able to award the win in certain circumstances to another pitcher other than the one who was in the game at the time of the lead being taken for good, but I must admit, I've never heard of it happening a day or two later.

If none of you have any idea what the hell I'm talking about, here is the official rule (MLB Rule 10.17c), which states in part:

"The official scorer shall not credit as the winning pitcher a relief pitcher who is ineffective in a brief appearance, when at least one succeeding relief pitcher pitches effectively in helping his team maintain its lead."

So there you have it. If a guy comes into the game, sucks, his team takes the lead, and then the next guy after him pitches well, the guy who sucked will most likely not get the win. I guess they shouldn't have given the other guy the win in the Rockies game in the first place, just to take it away from him later.

No comments:

Post a Comment